One week to escape – Marcus and the Mystery of the Haunted Mansion with Real Escape Game

marcus and haunted mansion

As EscapistTO correctly identified in the comments of yesterday’s blog, we’re going to talk about the app, Marcus and the Mystery of the Haunted Mansion today. (By the way, EscapistTO runs the awesome Toronto, Canada Room Escape thread on Reddit – which has an up to date list, on all room escapes in the Toronto area).

The original Real Escape Game team are behind this mobile app, where participants help Marcus and the Castle Hill Boy’s Detective club investigate the rumours swirling around the mysterious mansion that sits on the edge of town. When the app is started, enter your name and keep up with the tweets from the town’s residents, they will provide helpful hints to guide the game along.

Saying that, don’t expect this game to be easy! One of the interesting game mechanics is Marcus’ world moves in synchronisation with the real world, for seven consecutive days. For example, if its Monday 2pm in the game, it’s also Monday 2pm in your timezone. Tip: Start the game early in the day, as the game starts sending out regular in-game tweets from around 7am.

Marcus and the Mystery of the Haunted Mansion mobile app can be downloaded to iPhones and iPads in the App Store, Android devices in the Google Play Store, or at the official website – http://www.1weekgame.com/en/vol_2/

Additional Notes:
— The first day in the game (or the first twenty four hours) is free. If you want to keep playing the rest of the week, it will cost $1.99 to continue.

– Essa

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

43 thoughts on “One week to escape – Marcus and the Mystery of the Haunted Mansion with Real Escape Game

  1. EscapistTO August 17, 2014 at 11:43 am Reply

    Let me know if you get to the end of this, because im curious to see what I missed.
    You can also mess with the clock on your mobile device if you wantto accelerate the rate at which you can do puzzles

    • E. August 17, 2014 at 10:35 pm Reply

      Hey EscapistTO,
      Will let you know if I get to the end of the adventure and thanks for the tip about time. 🙂

      Thanks,
      Essa

  2. Tanner Lawrence September 18, 2014 at 7:40 am Reply

    Hey can anyone tell me the awnser to the castle door puzzles

    • E. September 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm Reply

      Hey Tanner,
      I haven’t gotten to the stage of the castle door puzzles yet but perhaps ask EscapistTO as they have progressed further in the game than me – EscapistTO@gmail.com

      Thanks,
      Essa

    • EscapistTO September 18, 2014 at 10:54 pm Reply

      Door puzzle 1: If you connect the dots using the legend the numbers on the papers along with the legend, it will spell KNOCK 7. Tap on the right most door 7 times to gain entrance

      Door puzzle 2: If you use the tweet to remember the science teacher’s science experiment, you will use chemicals to reveal the secret message. The code is XMAS. The corresponding door has the code 1225 (December 25th)

      • E. September 20, 2014 at 2:19 pm

        Thanks for helping us out EscapistTO! 🙂

        Thanks, Essa

      • Brian November 24, 2014 at 3:42 pm

        Can I get some assist with the 16 words? I know to put them in alphabetical order, but I’m stuck there.

      • EscapistTO November 24, 2014 at 5:38 pm

        Last letter!

  3. EscapistTO November 24, 2014 at 5:35 pm Reply

    Last letter

    • Essa @ Intervirals November 24, 2014 at 5:39 pm Reply

      I will take off my imaginary top hat for EscapistTO for the fast reply – I was just about to ask Brian for a screenshot of the game.

      Thanks and get some sleep EscapistTO! 🙂

    • tigeressprincess November 15, 2016 at 8:06 pm Reply

      I know what the last letter is E but don’t knowwhat I meant to do with it or how to get out

  4. valeria January 20, 2015 at 8:56 am Reply

    I am in the 7th, need to find the poems. How do I do it?

    • EscapistTO January 21, 2015 at 6:45 pm Reply

      Hi Valeria. I’m fairly certain that the English version of the game is buggy on the 7th day. I don’t know how to get past the poems. If you look at screenshots for the game, there looks like there was a poem at the back of the painting in the maze. There’s a poem when you enter the haunted house, and I think a poem when you’re at your ruined headquarters. Let me know if you do figure it out

      • Essa January 21, 2015 at 9:04 pm

        Thank you! EscapistTO also runs the fantastic site: https://escapistto.wordpress.com/

        Essa 🙂

      • Windy March 7, 2015 at 5:45 am

        I’m at 7th day and i cant figure out the puzzlle XKY ?? Somebody please help me 😦

  5. EscapistTO March 8, 2015 at 1:31 am Reply

    Follow the directions of the logic puzzle to determine how many of each letter they are. Flip it, like it asks. Then ‘subtract’ what they show. For example, K – I would leave you with <

  6. Clark March 31, 2015 at 8:08 am Reply

    So if we have the English version does that mean we can’t finish the game? I couldn’t find the other poems in the places mentioned above.

    • EscapistTO April 1, 2015 at 4:20 am Reply

      As far as I can tell, day 7 is bugged in the english version

      • Essa April 2, 2015 at 11:50 am

        Thanks EscapistTO! 🙂

  7. Clark March 31, 2015 at 3:11 pm Reply

    any help with the poems on day 7? Is it impossible to solve in the English version?

    • EscapistTO June 2, 2015 at 11:00 pm Reply

      I don’t think it’s possible. I think the English version is bugged and it’s not possible to finish it.

      • Jamil August 30, 2015 at 5:33 pm

        It’s not bugged, but I checked both the Japanese and English versions and the English is def more difficult to understand

      • EscapistTO August 30, 2015 at 6:05 pm

        It’s bugged in that I don’t think there’s any way to find the third stanza. I have the solution to the final day and how to beat the game though.

  8. Amr Ebaid June 2, 2015 at 8:31 am Reply

    Any updates on finding the 3 stanzas?

    • EscapistTO June 2, 2015 at 11:00 pm Reply

      I don’t think it’s possible

      • Essa June 3, 2015 at 9:38 pm

        Thanks EscapistTo 🙂

  9. hjiam June 8, 2015 at 4:23 pm Reply

    Totally stuck on the “cryptic box.” I’ve used both my genius candies and still cannot figure out how in the world to get past it. Any help?

    • EscapistTO June 8, 2015 at 7:32 pm Reply

      I can’t remember what the cryptic box was about… can you tell me what it looks like

      • hjiam June 9, 2015 at 4:26 am

        It’s a box in the school, one of the “seven wonders.” There are three red, blue, and yellow buttons on the box. There is also a line of six vertical yellow dots on the bottom of the box with light brown dots on each side of the yellow dots. The hints say “the number of the seven wonders is six” and “count the number of the letters”

      • amrebaid June 13, 2015 at 10:54 am

        Any updates here? I know how to open it, but cannot get why is that the solution!!

      • amrebaid June 13, 2015 at 10:57 am

        Any updates about this? I can open the box already, but cannot figure out why does it work this way!! how this is the solution to the clues?!

      • EscapistTO June 13, 2015 at 11:43 pm

        I sent hjiam the solution via email! contact me at escapistto@gmail.com

      • Essa June 14, 2015 at 7:07 pm

        Thanks EscapistTO! 🙂

  10. Nam June 18, 2015 at 9:36 am Reply

    I’m totally stuck on Day 5. I read the message saying “Spiral From Star” but I don’t know how to move on from there. Help me please :s

  11. Jamil August 31, 2015 at 12:10 am Reply

    Hi guys. I just completed the game in english.
    Let me know if you need any help with anything.
    P.S. There isn’t any bugs in the english version, although the translations kinda suck sometimes.
    If you are stuck on day 7, maybe I point you in the right direction.

    • EscapistTO August 31, 2015 at 9:11 pm Reply

      I have completed the game as well. Jamil, where is the third stanza?

      • amrebaid October 5, 2015 at 9:54 am

        Hello.. Did you complete it? Where is the 3rd one?

    • amrebaid September 1, 2015 at 4:53 am Reply

      Yes, please, can you give me a hint about how to find the 3 stanzas? I am stuck at 7th day

      • amrebaid October 5, 2015 at 9:54 am

        Hello, guys.. Can any of you respond to that, please? How can I find the 3 stanzas?

    • amrebaid October 5, 2015 at 9:55 am Reply

      Hello, guys.. Can any of you respond to that, please? How can I find the 3 stanzas?

      • EscapistTO October 5, 2015 at 10:54 pm

        Email me at escapistto@gmail.com

        I couldn’t really tell you where the three stanzas are, but I can tell you how to beat the game

    • NH October 15, 2015 at 7:33 pm Reply

      Jamil, can you point to what I should do on day 7?

    • NH October 16, 2015 at 2:42 am Reply

      What do I do after I got the 3rd stanza? The picture says “put the story aside…” and the 3rd stanza says “using the finger and map at night. ..”

Leave a Reply

